May 25th – 8:00-9:00am Walk 4 the Salish Sea! Kick-off!
Join us to send the Walkers out on their epic journey at our official kick-off event at Mile 0! Supporters will gather at 8:00 for speakers, music, and drumming and then walk the Walkers through downtown. 

If you can’t make it on the whole walk, come out and show your solidarity with walkers and your opposition to the Kinder Morgan pipeline by attending this launch event.

7:45 am Registered participants check-in, load support vehicle
8 am Circle and Traditional welcome and blessing from Lekwungen Elder Joan Morris
8:10-8:15 “Why We are Walking!” -Bobby Arbess, Lead organizer, Walk 4 the Salish Sea!
8:15–8:20 Victoria Mayor Lisa Helps
8:20-8:25 Canadian Youth delegate to the Paris Climate Summit, WC campaigner, Torrance Coste
8:25-8:30 Victoria-Beacon Hill MLA, Carole James
8:35-8:40 Saanich-Gulf Islands MP Elizabeth May
8:40-8:45 The legendary Raging Grannies
8:45- 8:50 Folktivist singer-song-writer Luke Wallace
8:50 8:55 Photo opp
8:55- 9 am Drumming
9 am Drummers escort Walkers through downtown


May 25th – 6:00-9:00pm  All Nations Gathering Against Kinder Morgan! Pull together Fundraiser
Join the Event on Facebook!
Join the walkers on the first night of our journey as we celebrate our solidarity with and enjoy the hospitality of our hosts, neighbors and allies from the Tsawout First Nation.  Tsawout councillor Mavis Underwood and Elder Belinda Claxton will host a potluck feast and public fundraiser for indigenous-led efforts to defeat the Kinder Morgan pipeline/tanker expansion.
When: May 25th, 6-9 pm
Where: Tsawout First Nations gym.
What: BBQ salmon feast and potluck, with vegetarian options.
Drumming, traditional welcome and speakers including Tsartlip Chief Don Tom, W’sanec carver Charles Elliot, former Douglas Treaty coordinator and Tsawout elder Eric Pelkie, Saaanich-Gulf Islands MP Elizabeth May, Alicia Cormier, Caitlyn Vernon, Adam Olsen and Ben isitt, with inspiring musical performances from Vancouver folktivist Luke Wallace, Saltspring islander Phil Vernon and others!
Suggested donation: $20-$50 (includes transportation)
Admission donations for event can be sent by interac transfer at:
Nobody will be turned away for lack of funds.
Proceeds to Coldwater and Tsleil-waututh First Nations legal defence against Kinder Morgan and the work of UBCIC, Coast Protectors.
Registered Walk Participation are under no obligation to make additional donations for each event, although they are encouraged to do so if their financial situation allows.
Transportation: the Community Action Bus will carry walk participants to and from their accommodations.
It will also be available to bring additional attendees from Victoria. The Bus will leave from Fernwood Square at 5:30 pm and return at 9: 30.
Please call Bobby 778-265-3564 to hold a seat.
May 28th 1:30-5:00pm Fossil Fuel Freedom Fest – Celebrate Resistance!
This is the FINALE of the 4-day Walk 4 the Salish Sea! Join us for a rally, festival, and civil disobedience training at the gates of Kinder Morgan itself. Together we will send a message to Kinder Morgan, the Premier, and the Prime Minister – the people of BC stand united in support of First Nations and in opposition to this pipeline!
1:30 – 2:30pm: The Walk will proceed to the gates of the Kinder Morgan Westridge Marine Terminal for drumming, decoration of the gates and symbolic blockade
2:30 – 5pm FOSSIL FUEL FREEDOM FEST: Celebrate Resistance!! Westridge Park (320 Cliff Ave, Burnaby)
includes infotables, music/dancing, kid’s activities, Indigenous rights, climate justice, Kinder Morgan pipeline and mass non-violent direct action teach-in. Volunteers needed! Please email:
Speakers / Music to include:
– co-MC’s: Audrey Siegl & Stephen Collis
– Coast Salish welcome – Cedar George-Parker, Tsleil-Waututh FN
– Grand Chief Stewart & Joan Phillip, UBCIC
– Slam Poets
– Brandon Gabriel & Kachina Bige, Kwantlan First Nation
– Music by Luke Wallace, Emily Kelsall, The Racket & other awesome people!
– Secwepemc First Nation reps
– Chief Lee Spahan, Coldwater FN (to be confirmed)
– Elizabeth May MP Saanich-Gulf Islands
– Briony Penn (Orca Soundings)
– Burnaby Mayor Derek Corrigan
– Kennedy Stewart MP-Burnaby South